jump to navigation

Beef Potato Loaf December 5, 2007

Posted by glutenfreedance in Celiac Disease, Food, Gluten Free, Recipes.
trackback

For my first entry I am going to post a modified version of this recipe. One of the most frustrating things for me as we made our transition to a gluten-free menu after our third son was diagnosed with Celiac Disease was the inability to just run down to the local grocery store and pick up what I need. For some reason Stater Bros. doesn’t stock gluten-free…well, anything except Fritos. ūüėČ Our situation has improved of late as¬† a Sprouts has opened about 25 minutes from our house, but that’s still a bit far to pick up one item. I usually do my shopping on days when my¬†boys¬†are at dance which just happens to be five minutes from the store. At any rate, dinner found me without a crucial ingredient for gluten-free meatloaf, namely, g-f breadcrumbs. So I searched and¬†found this recipe. I modified it for what I had on hand and I like it much better than the regular meatloaf. It’s less expensive too. GF breadcrumbs ain’t exactly cheap.¬† And, if you live in an area where there are no health food stores, these ingredients will be easily obtained.

1.5 lb. ground beef
3/4 c. instant potato flakes
1 tsp. minced garlic
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. lemon pepper
1 tsp. dry mustard
6 oz. evaporated milk
1/2 c. catsup
2 tbsp. pure maple syrup

Mix all ingredients except catsup & maple syrup¬†thoroughly; shape into a loaf. Place in a loaf pan. (I actually shape mine into a ball and place it in a round casserole but everyone doesn’t have one but if you do, it works fine.)¬† Bake in 350 degree over for 1 hour and 15 minutes.¬† Mix the catsup and¬†maple syrup. Remove the loaf from oven and spoon catsup mixture over top. Return to oven and bake for 5 to 10 minutes longer.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

