jump to navigation

Menu Monday March 10, 2008

Posted by glutenfreedance in Blogroll, Celiac Disease, Doctors, Eating Out, Food, Gluten Free, Other People's Blogs, Recipes, Shopping.
trackback

Airplane A week and a half ago I was called away suddenly and, as I was packing, I realized I hadn’t stayed home for a full week for nearly the whole month of February.  Fortunately, the rest of March looks clear.  Travelling doesn’t favor my digestive system and travelling to the middle of nowhere (Central AL) doesn’t favor a gluten-free diet.  Boy I sure feel for folks outside the city now.  I’m truly spoiled.  Fortunately, I did not have to take my Celiac on the trip.  Next time I will, but we’ll have time then to get to the Whole Foods near Birmingham so the kid won’t starve.  

 Chef Another way I’m spoiled is all the gluten-free blogs I have found.  I joke that I don’t need to buy any more cookbooks, I can just use the recipes I find online.  I tend to get overwhelmed easily, however, by all the recipes available and trying to figure out when to use which one.  I’ve decided the remedy for this is to just go down my GF Blog list and try a recipe from each blog.  To this end A Gluten Free Guide (and her new blogsite) will be my first.  I was tempted by her French Apple Pie recipe but I thought my dh might balk at buying a $150 pan just to make a pie.  (Is there a gift giving holiday coming up? lol)  Instead I thought I’d try her Seared Pork Tenderloin with Cocoa Spice Rub.  I’ve always wanted an excuse to buy one of those fancy sea salts I see at Henry’s and Sprouts, and since sea salt seems to be less expensive than cooking pans…

 Take Out I’m also going to finally make Chop Suey.  I fell in love with this dish shortly before I discovered that the sodium intake of the restaurant food was causing me to poof up like the Goodyear blimp.  Seriously, I lost 20lbs just from water retention after we stopped eating out.  Scary, eh?  (I discovered as well, that, not unusually, the docs were wrong, I wasn’t carrying my weight in my gut and therefore predisposed to a heart attack, instead, I’m actually equally fat all over. :-D)

 Computing Well, enough chitter-chatter, the kids need the computer for school.  And I should really go and do something exciting like clean the kitchen.  Don’t forget to check out all the other GF Menu ideas this week at Gluten Free Mommy.

 Pasta Monday–Spaghetti, Salad, Garlic Bread

 Cow Tuesday–Beef Stroganoff, Salad, Fruit

 Taco Wednesday–Tacos, Corn, Fruit

 Ni Hao Thursday–Chop Suey, Rice

 Chicken Friday–Crock-pot Chicken, Rice, Stir-Fry Veggies

 Pig 2 Saturday–Seared Pork Tenderloin, French Green Beans, Bread

 Church Sunday–Leftovers

Comments»

1. Gluten Free Menu Swap- March 10, 2008 : Gluten Free Mommy - March 10, 2008

[...] Sara at Gluten Free Dance is sharing her menu this week.  Sara is making a pork tenderloin, beef stroganoff, and some yummy sounding tacos. If you have a gluten-free menu to share, email me at natalie (at) glutenfreemommy (dot) com or leave a comment. [...]

2. Menu Monday « The Gluten Free Dance - March 17, 2008

[...] going to attempt last Saturday’s recipe again.  It was a rough day.  My grandfather died that morning and by the time I got home with the [...]

3. aglutenfreeguide - April 13, 2008

I am so glad you enjoyed the pork tenderloin recipe! It’s one of my new favorites now and once you make a big batch of the spice rub, it’s just soooo easy.

Thanks for reading, you are cooking up quite the gluten-free storm!

–Catherine
http://www.aglutenfreeguide.com


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

